MINELRES: ASN 2007 Preliminary Program Now Online!

minelres@lists.microlink.lv minelres@lists.microlink.lv
Tue Feb 13 08:06:24 2007

Original sender: Dominique Arel <darel@uottawa.ca>

The preliminary program of the ASN 2007 World Convention can now be
downloaded at http://www.nationalities.org/ASN_2007_prelim_program.pdf. 
The Convention, sponsored by the Harriman Institute, will be held at
Columbia University, New York, April 12-14, 2007. 
Those interested in attending the convention are invited to register in
advance by accessing a registration form at
http://www..nationalities.org/ASN_2007_prereg_form.pdf and sending it to
Convention Assistant Director Tennie Olney by attachment
(mlo2109@columbia.edu) or by postal mail at Harriman Institute, Columbia
University, 420 W 118th St., New York, NY 10027, United States (tel. 212
854 8487). Only registration with payment will be accepted.
The program features 110 panels, not yet including up to ten film
screenings to be announced later. As usual, the Convention boasts the
most international lineup of panelists of North American-based
conventions, with more than half of the 352 scholars, from 40 countries,
who will be delivering papers (57 percent – the highest proportion ever)
currently based outside of the United States. More than 700 panelists
and participants are expected at the convention, a record number.
The Convention will be hosting nine special panels featuring new major
books by David Laitin (Nations, States, and Violence, Oxford 2007),
Rogers Brubaker, Jon Fox, Margit Feischmidt, and Liana Grancea
(Nationalist Politics and Everyday Ethnicity in a Transylvanian Town,
Princeton 2006), Stathis Kalyvas (The Logic of Violence in Civil Wars,
Cambridge 2006), Aviel Roshwald (The Endurance of Nationalism: Ancient
Roots and Modern Dilemmas, Cambridge 2006), Daniel Chirot and Clark
McCauley (Why Not Kill Them All?, Princeton 2006) and Jacques Semelin
(Purify and Destroy, Columbia 2007), Nicholas Riasanovsky, (Russian
Identities: A Historical Survey, Oxford 2005), Geoffrey Hosking (Rulers
and Victims: The Russians in the Soviet Union, Harvard 2006), David Ost
(The Defeat of Solidarity: Anger and Politics in Postcommunist Europe,
Cornell 2005), and Alex Cooley (Logic of Hierarchy: The Organization of
Empires, States, and Military Occupations, Cornell 2005).

Several of these book panels are part of the section “Theories of
Nationalism,” now in its fourth year at the ASN Convention, which offers
a platform for the latest trends in nationalism studies worldwide. Nine
more panels appear in the Nationalism section, such as “Nationalism,
Rights, and the Rule of Law,”“Nationalist Violence,” and “Third-Party
Involvement in Ethnic Conflicts.” 
As always, the Convention offers a strong lineup of panels in all
regions of the former Communist world and Eurasia: Russia, the Caucasus,
Central Asia/Turkey/China, the Balkans, Ukraine and Central Europe.
Every year, the Program Committee has to be more selective in devising
the lineup, due to the increasing number of proposals. The Balkans lead
the way with 20 panels, followed by Russia and the Caucasus with a
combined 18 panels, Eurasia and Turkey — a combined 14, Ukraine and
Belarus—14, and Eurasia/Central Asia—11. Thirteen panels appear in the
“Thematic” section. Three panels on Oil Politics, a commemorative panel
on Anna Politkovskaya, a special panel on “The Scholar as a
Nation-Builder,” roundtables on the recent “Antidiscrimination Law” in
Serbia, “Scholarship in Post-Communist States,” and “Empire as
Metaphor,” four panels on Habsburg history, a panel on “Democracy
Promotion in Europe and Eurasia, and a panel on “Identity and Film” are
among the highlights of the program.
The Convention will also feature a film lineup, which will be announced
Since 2005, the ASN Convention is acknowledging excellence in graduate
studies research by offering Awards for Best Doctoral Papers in five
sections: Russia/Ukraine/Caucasus, Central Asia/Eurasia, Central Europe,
Balkans, and Nationalism Studies. The winners at the 2006 Convention
were Kelly O’Neill (Harvard U, History, Russia/Ukraine/Caucasus), Yuriy
Malikov (U of California, Santa Barbara, History, Central Asia/Eurasia),
Tamara Pavasovic (Harvard U, Sociology, Balkans), and Andrew Demshuk (U
of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, History, Central Europe). The awardees in
2005 were Lisa Koriouchkina (Brown U, Anthropology,
Russia/Ukraine/Caucasus), Evangelos Liaras (MIT, Political Science,
Central Asia/Eurasia), Shannon Woodcock (U of Tirana, Anthropology,
Central Europe), Jessica Greenberg (U of Chicago, Anthropology,
Balkans), and Bijita Majumdar (Rutgers U, Sociology, Nationalism
Studies). Nearly a hundred doctoral students will be eligible for awards
at the 2007 Convention.
For practical information regarding the convention, please contact 
Gordon Bardos (gnb12@columbia.edu, 212 854 8487). 
For information on panels, please contact Dominique Arel
(darel@uottawa.ca) or Sherrill Stroschein (s.stroschein@ucl.ac.uk).
We look forward to seeing you at the convention! 
Dominique Arel, ASN President
Gordon N Bardos, Convention Executive Director
Sherrill Stroschein, Program Chair
on behalf of the ASN Convention Organizing

This message was sent using Endymion MailMan.
http://www.endymion.com/products/mailman/ http://www.microlink.com/